When deleting a single pedigree node, all its parents, siblings and partners will be removed as well. The current warning message should be more clear.
"All highlighted family members (including ones assigned to the existing patient records) will be removed from this pedigree. Are you sure you wish to proceed?"
Remove text in the brackets "(all persons in a pedigree..)".